

COLWICH PARISH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON 16TH MAY 2019 AT THE PARISH CENTRE, ST. MARY'S ROAD, LITTLE HAYWOOD, COMMENCING AT 7:30PM.

PRESENT: Cllr Billingsley; Cllr Bloor; Cllr Dunn; Cllr Fletcher; Cllr Harris; Cllr Rattray; Cllr Wells and Cllr Whitfield.

IN ATTENDANCE: Michael Lennon (Parish Clerk); Anthony Egan (Deputy Clerk); Cllr Brown & Cllr McKeown (SBC) and Cllr Francis (SCC).

PUBLIC PRESENT: Three members of the public were present.

MINUTES

64/19 CHAIRMAN OF THE PARISH COUNCIL 2019/2020.

Cllr Billingsley was **PROPOSED** by Cllr Bloor and **SECONDED** by Cllr Whitfield.

Cllr Dunn was **PROPOSED** by Cllr Rattray but declined to stand.

There being no further nominations, Cllr Billingsley's nomination was put to the vote and carried unanimously.

Cllr Billingsley signed the **DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE** and received the Badge of Office from Cllr Dunn.

65/19 VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE PARISH COUNCIL 2018/19.

Cllr Dunn was **PROPOSED** by Cllr Fletcher and **SECONDED** by Cllr Billingsley.

There being no further nominations, Cllr Dunn's nomination was put to the vote and carried unanimously.

Cllr Dunn signed the **DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE.**

66/19 The Chairman went through the **DEEDS HELD BY THE PARISH COUNCIL** for the Parish Office; Jubilee Playing Field; Allotments; Oldfields Crescent Open Space; Great Haywood Memorial Hall and the CCLA Property Fund share certificate.

67/19 TO CO-OPT NEW MEMBERS.

RESOLVED to defer consideration of the applications from those applicants who were unable to attend the meeting until 13th June 2019 Full Council meeting.

PROPOSED Cllr Harris

SECONDED Cllr Billingsley

On being put to the vote the resolution was carried unanimously.

The two applicants in attendance were given the opportunity to address the Council.

On being put to a show of hands Chris Roberts and Ben Walters were co-opted unanimously onto the Council.

Chris Roberts and Ben Walters signed their **ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE** and joined the meeting.

68/19 TO CONSIDER AND AGREE THE COMMITTEE STRUCTURE FOR 2019/20 INCLUDING:

- a. **RESOLVED** to continue with the same names for Committees. **PROPOSED** Cllr Billingsley **SECONDED** Cllr Wells. On being put to the vote, the resolution was carried unanimously.
- **RESOLVED** to set the number of members per Committee at 5 for all Committees except for Planning which will be 6 (three from each ward).
 PROPOSED Cllr Whitfield **SECONDED** Cllr Fletcher.
 On being put to the vote, the resolution was carried unanimously.
- c. To elect members to the Committees
 RESOLVED to elect the following membership to Committees
 PROPOSED Cllr Billingsley
 SECONDED Cllr Dunn
 On being put to the vote, the resolution was carried unanimously.

Planning (6 Members)	Policy (5 members)
Cllr Billingsley	Cllr Billingsley
Cllr Bloor	Cllr Dunn
Cllr Fletcher	Cllr Fletcher
Cllr Walters	Cllr Wells
Cllr Wells	Cllr Whitfield
Cllr Whitfield	
Environment & Leisure (5 Members)	<u>Communications</u> (5 members)
Cllr Bloor	Cllr Billingsley
Cllr Harris	Cllr Bloor
Cllr Rattray	Cllr Dunn
Cllr Walters	Cllr Rattray
Cllr Whitfield	Cllr Wells
<u>Finance</u> (5 members)	Employment (5 members)
Cllr Billingsley	Cllr Billingsley
Cllr Dunn	Cllr Fletcher
Cllr Fletcher	Cllr Harris
Cllr Harris	Cllr Wells
Cllr Roberts	Cllr Whitfield
Events (5 members)	
Cllr Billingsley	
Cllr Bloor	
Cllr Walters	
Cllr Wells	
Cllr Whitfield	

d. Chair and Vice Chair of the committees

COMMITTEE	NOMINEE	PROPOSED	SECONDED
Communications	Cllr Bloor (C)	Cllr Billingsley	Cllr Wells
	Cllr Wells (VC)	Cllr Billingsley	Cllr Rattray
Employment	Chairman of Council		
	Cllr Whitfield (VC)	Cllr Billingsley	Cllr Wells
E&L	Cllr Bloor (C)	Cllr Whitfield	Cllr Walters
	Cllr Walters (VC)	Cllr Whitfield	Cllr Harris
Events	Cllr Bloor (C)	Cllr Wells	Cllr Billingsley
	Cllr Wells (VC)	Cllr Bloor	Cllr Billingsley
Finance	Chairman of Council		
	Cllr Roberts (VC)	Cllr Billingsley	Cllr Harris
Planning	Cllr Wells (C)	Cllr Billingsley	Cllr Walters
	Cllr Whitfield	Cllr Billingsley	Cllr Fletcher
Policy	Chairman of Council		
	Cllr Fletcher (VC)	Cllr Billingsley	Cllr Whitfield

e. RESOLVED to agree the draft "Timetable for Meetings" and to publish this on the website.
 PROPOSED Cllr Whitfield SECONDED Cllr Billingsley.

On being put to the vote, the resolution was carried unanimously.

69/19 CONTACTS FOR LOCAL ASSOCIATIONS.

RESOLVED to elect the following contacts

Great Haywood Memorial Hall Committee	Cllr Bloor
Colwich & Haywoods Community Association	Cllr Rattray
Colwich & Haywoods Twinning Association	(GH) Cllr Dunn (LH) Cllr Bloor
Colwich & Little Haywood Village Hall Committee	Cllr Roberts
Colwich & Haywoods Voluntary Transport Scheme	Cllr Fletcher
Colwich Parochial Charities	(GH) Cllr Dunn (LH) Cllr Fletcher
AONB	Cllr Whitfield
Colwich Allotment Association	Cllr Harris Cllr Whitfield
Staffordshire Wildlife Trust	Cllr Whitfield
Rural Parish Councils Group	Cllr Wells
Trent Valley Collaboration Group	Cllr Billingsley

PROPOSED Cllr Billingsley

SECONDED Cllr Wells

On being put to the vote, the resolution was carried unanimously.

70/19 RESPONSIBLE COUNCILLOR FOR CHECKING THE PARISH COUNCIL PETTY CASH, PHOTOCOPYING RECEIPTS AND STAMPS.

Cllr Wells was **PROPOSED** by Cllr Whitfield and **SECONDED** by Cllr Billingsley. There being no further nominations, Cllr Wells was appointed unanimously.

71/19 COUNCILLOR SURGERIES.

RESOLVED to continue with the monthly Surgeries and to delegate consideration of
other methods of engaging with residents to the Communications Committee.**PROPOSED** Cllr Billingsley**SECONDED** Cllr Dunn.On being put to the vote, the resolution was carried unanimously.

- a. Monthly Ward allocation.
 RESOLVED to commence with a surgery in Great Haywood attended by Cllr Billingsley and Cllr Whitfield.
 PROPOSED Cllr Billingsley
 SECONDED Cllr Whitfield On being put to the vote, the resolution was carried unanimously.
- b. Councillors' rota per Ward to be decided once the timetable has been set.

72/19 COUNCILLORS AUTHORISED TO SIGN CHEQUES AND TO COMPLETE THE APPROPRIATE MANDATE FOR UNITY TRUST BANK.

RESOLVED to continue with the existing Councillors, namely: Cllr Bloor; Cllr Dunn: Cllr Wells and Cllr Whitfield.

PROPOSED Cllr Whitfield**SECONDED** Cllr Billingsley.On being put to the vote, the resolution was carried unanimously.

73/19 COUNCILLORS AUTHORISED TO SIGN PAPERWORK FOR DEPOSITING FUNDS TO AND REQUESTING FUNDS FROM CCLA.

RESOLVED to appoint Cllr Billingsley; Cllr Fletcher; Cllr Harris and Cllr Roberts.

PROPOSED Cllr Billingsley **SECONDED** Cllr Whitfield On being put to the vote, the resolution was carried unanimously.

74/19 DATE OF NEXT ANNUAL MEETING to be 7th May 2020.

Meeting closed at 8:36pm